What is Gernika Gogoratuz?


Gernika Gogoratuz (Remembering Gernika), is a Peace Research Centre that was created in 1987 coinciding with the 50th anniversary of the bombing of Gernika. Gernika Gogoratuz develops its activities within the framework of Memory and Culture of Peace.

The Peace Research Centre is supported by the Gernika Gogoratuz Foundation. Its main purpose is “to contribute, with contributions generated or supported by scientific reflection, and linked to the town and / or symbol of Gernika, to the achievement of a just and emancipatory peace worldwide and in the Basque Country, in particular, and thus comply with the non-legislative proposal approved by the Basque Parliament on April 10, 1987 to establish a Centre for Peace Studies in Gernika”.

The Centre has a specialized library that contains a documentary collection with 7056 automated registers and a library with 6186 monographs.

Strategic planning

  • Bizigogo”. Pro Gender Equality and Sexual Diversity Plan from a feminist perspective and intersectional focus (2022-2025). See
  • Protocol for prevention and intervention in incidents of sexual harassment based on sex or sexual orientation. See


Recognition of the Permanent Social Forum

Gernika Gogoratuz (2023)

Award for efforts promoting Peace Culture – Elche Town Council

Gernika Gogoratuz (2022)

Award from the Spanish Peace Research Association (AIPAZ)

Juan Gutierrez (2022)

Gernika Gogoratuz acknowledged by the Colombian Truth Comission and Truth Without Borders

Gernika Gogoratuz (2022)

“Peironcely 10” house acknowledgement

Gernika Gogoratuz (2021)

XIV Francisco Javier de Landaburu Universitas Europe research award

Jokin Alberdi Bidaguren (2015)

Gernika Award for Peace and Reconciliation

Asociación Gernika Gogoratuz (2012)

René Cassin Human Rights Award presented by the Basque Government

María Oianguren Idigoras (2010)

Acknowledgement From: 1000 PeaceWomen Across the Globe

Mireia Uranga (2005)

Gernika Award for Peace and Reconciliation

Juan Gutiérrez y Michael Kasper (2005)

“Coreguaje de Oro” Award

Gernika Gogoratuz (2005)

UNESCO Award Gernika City for Peace

Gernika-Lumo (2002-2003)

Order of Merit from the Federal Republic of Germany

Juan Gutierrez (1999)

Work Team

María Oianguren, Directora de Gernika Gogoratuz

María Oianguren Idígoras


Andreas Schafer

Andreas Schäfter

European programs

Liliana Zambrano-Quintero

Liliana Zambrano Quintero


María Hormaetxea. Comunicación en Gernika Gogoratuz

Maria Hormaetxea

Communication and web management

Teresa Cunha

Teresa Cunha


Iker Atxa

Iker Atxa Zaitegi


(2016 - 2020)

Berezi Zabala

Berezi Zabala

Project technician

Alexandra Bogza. Gernika Gogoratuz

Alexandra Bogza



Jokin Alberdi Bidaguren

Jokin Alberdi Bidaguren

Gernika Gogoratuz Peace Research Association President


Itxaso Bengoetxea Larrinaga

Secretary of the Gernika Gogoratuz Foundation

(2020 - 2021)

Fiachra Mcdonagh

Fiachra Mcdonagh

Gernika Gogoratuz Peace Research Association Treasurer

Anna León Herrero

Gernika Gogoratuz Peace Research Association Secretary

Irune Ondarza Zubieta

Gernika Gogoratuz Peace Research Association Vice-president

(Ibarrangelua, 1970 - 2020)

Sara Nicholson. Gernika Gogoratuz

Sara Nicholson Mendieta


Iñigo Retolaza Eguren

Iñigo Retolaza Eguren

Memorialab and Afaloste projects Facilitator

Alex Carrascosa

Alex Carrascosa

Artivist (artist and activist)

Terezinha da Silva

Terezinha da Silva

Researcher - CEAP Mozambique

Alberto Ernesto

Alberto Ernesto

Researcher - CEAP Mozambique

Aventina Matusse

Aventina Matusse

Researcher - CEAP Mozambique

Lazaro Cossa

Lazaro Cossa

Researcher - CEAP Mozambique

Alfonso Dubois. Gernika Gogoratuz

Alfonso Dubois

``Territories in conflict`` project collaborator

Rosa de la Asunción

Rosa de la Asunción

``Territories in conflict`` project collaborator

Fernando Cruz Artunduaga


Emerita Cuellar Ibañez. Gernika Gogoratuz

Emérita Cuéllar Ibáñez


Alvaro Ramirez

Alvaro Ramírez


guillermo leon

Guillermo León Artunduaga Montealegre


Collaborations history

Vasco Coelho. Territories in Conflict project and online course coordinator (2018 – 2021)
Ainhoa Oribe Mandaluniz. Collaborator. 2020 – 2021
Laia Arias. Collaborator. 2019-2022
Angélica Padilla. Researcher. Sites of Conscience Project. 2021


Noelia Martínez

Noelia Martínez Agramonte


September - November 2023

Max Zuba

Max Zuba

Social alternative service

September 2023 - June 2024

Internship history in Gernika Gogoratuz

Venues of victims // Venues of perpetrators” project

Benedikt Vallant. September 2022 – June 2023

Leire de Bernedo. February – June 2023

Sarah Jack. Volunteer 2022

Alba García. September – December 2022

Nere Ibinaga. September – December 2022

Catalina Uribarri. March – July 2022

Gonzalo Hernando. February – May 2002

Paul Ploeckinger . September 2021 – June 2022

Alazne Anduaga. February – April 2022

Leire Álvarez Gracia. October 2021 – January 2022

Amaia Álvarez Gracia. July – September 2021

Jon Fernández. July 2021

Itxaso Jaureguizar. March 2021 – June 2021

Berta Alvarez Paz. February – April 2021

Clara Acuña. Laborlan Programme. February – March 2021

Werner Lagler. September 2020 – June 2021

Nerea Olarte. September 2020 – January 2021

Hilde Cocquyt. January – February 2020

Barbara Schmalen. From 20 September to 13 December 2019

Nere Ibinaga de Quadra
Degree in Global Digital Humanities. Mondragon University

Maria Malaxetxebarria Larrinaga
Social Work. University of Vitoria-Gasteiz

Olaia Mujika Anduiza
Double Degree in Law and International Relations. University of Deusto.

Garazi Saez Caballero

Maitane Urkiaga Espada
Degree in Law, Economics and International Law. University of Deusto

Aitor Zabala Miguel
Degree in Philosophy, Politics and Economics. University of Deusto

Eñaut Bermeosolo
Collaborator with the project Venues of Victims//Venues of Perpetrators.